and Prince Edward Island and insurance and trust companies incorporated in Manitoba. The department also provides actuarial services to the government. It reports to Parliament through the minister of finance.

International Boundary Commission. The commission functions by virtue of a 1925 treaty between Canada and the United States and the International Boundary Commission Act (RSC 1970, c.I-19). The commissioners, one for Canada and one for the United States, are empowered to inspect the boundary, to repair, relocate and rebuild monuments, to keep boundary vistas open, to regulate all work within 3.05 m (metres) of the boundary including structures of any kind or earthwork, to maintain at all times an effective boundary line and to determine the location of any point of the boundary line which may become necessary to settle any question that may arise between the two governments. Each country pays the salaries of its commissioner and his assistants; the costs of maintaining the boundary are shared equally. The Canadian section comes under the energy, mines and resources department for administrative purposes but the Canadian commissioner reports functionally to the secretary of state for external affairs. The commissioners meet at least twice annually, alternately in Ottawa and Washington.

International Development Research Centre. Established as a public corporation by act of Parliament (RSC 1970, c.21, 1st Supp.), the IDRC is an international organization supported financially by Canada. Its objectives are to initiate, encourage, support and conduct research into the problems of developing countries and into methods of applying and adapting scientific and technical knowledge to their socio-economic advancement. A chief purpose is to help them develop their own research skills and facilities.

The board of governors consists of 21 members; 11 of them, including the chairman and the president, must be Canadian. The IDRC reports to Parliament through the secretary of state for external affairs.

International Fisheries Commissions, The minister of fisheries and oceans reports to Parliament on Canadian participation in the several international fisheries commissions of which Canada is a member.

International Joint Commission. This commission was established under a Britain-United States treaty signed in January 1909 and ratified by Canada in 1911 (RSC 1970, c.I-20). The commission, composed of six members (three appointed by the president of the United States with the advice and consent of the Senate and three by the Government of Canada), is governed by five specific articles of the Boundary Waters Treaty of 1909. The commission's approval is required for any use, obstruction or diversion of boundary waters affecting the natural level or flow of boundary waters in the other country; and for any works which, in waters flowing from boundary waters or below the boundary in rivers flowing across the boundary, raise the natural level of waters on the other side of the boundary.

Problems arising along the common frontier are also referred to the commission by either country for examination and report, such report to contain appropriate conclusions and recommendations. Provided both countries consent, questions or matters of difference between the two countries may be referred to the commission for decision.

The commission was given responsibilities under the Canada-United States Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement of 1972 as amended by the water quality agreement of 1978 to assist in the implementation of the agreement by monitoring various programs in regard to their effectiveness and progress. The commission established a Great Lakes regional office at Windsor, Ont., staffed by American and Canadian public servants; operating costs are shared equally by the two governments.

The commission reports to the secretary of state for external affairs of Canada and to the secretary of state of the United States.

Interprovincial and Territorial Boundary Commissions. The Alberta-British Columbia and the Manitoba-Saskatchewan boundary commissions are at present the only interprovincial boundary commissions in which the federal government participates.

Three commissions are responsible for the following boundaries between provinces and territories: the British Columbia—Yukon Territory/Northwest Territories, the Alberta—Northwest Territories, and the Saskatchewan—Northwest Territories boundary commissions. A commission consists of one commissioner from each of the respective provinces and the surveyor general of Canada Lands. The Alberta—British Columbia Boundary Commission was established in 1974 by federal and provincial boundary acts. The other commissions were established by orders-in-council. The commissions are responsible for the respective boundaries and report to Parliament through the minister of energy, mines and resources.

The boundary between Yukon and Northwest Territories is surveyed and maintained as necessary by the surveyor general of Canada Lands under authority of order-in-council PC 1981-1708 pursuant to the Canada Lands Surveys Act.

Jacques Cartier and Champlain Bridges Inc. was established under the Canada Business Corporations Act in November 1978. It operates and maintains the Jacques Cartier and Champlain bridges over the St. Lawrence River at Montréal, Que. It is a subsidiary of the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority and reports to Parliament through the minister of transport.

Justice, Department of (Department of Justice Canada). This department, established by SC 1868, c.39, now operates under authority of the Department of Justice Act (RSC 1970, c.J-2). The minister of justice is the official legal adviser of the Governor General and the Queen's Privy Council for Canada. It is his duty to see that administration of public affairs is in accordance with law, to superintend all matters connected with the administration of justice in Canada that are not within the jurisdiction of the provincial governments, to advise on the legislation and proceedings of the provincial legislatures, and generally to advise the Crown on all matters of law referred to him by the Crown. The minister of justice is, ex officio, Her Majesty's attorney general of Canada. In this capacity it is his duty to advise the heads of the departments of the federal government on all